top of page

Affiliate Disclosure. A few links on this website are affiliate links. This means a small commission is paid to Sydney Chic, however this does not incur any extra costs to the purchasers, and in some cases, may even offer discounts. This helps fund this website as we do not have any pop-up advertising or annoying lightboxes.

The 35th Telstra NATSIAA Finalists

natsiaa finalists

The Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (MAGNT) has announced 67 works selected from 308 entries to be part of the country’s most prestigious national Indigenous art awards, the Telstra National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Art Awards (NATSIAA). This year, Telstra NATSIAA has attracted residential entries from every state and territory in Australia: 2 entries from the Australian Capital Territory; 21 entries from New South Wales; 117 entries from the Northern Territory; 32 entries from Queensland; 70 entries from South Australia; 3 entries from Tasmania; 9 entries from Victoria; and 54 entries from Western Australia.

natsiaa finalists

There are two new categories this year: Telstra Multimedia Award and the Telstra Emerging Artist Award.

Other categories comprise: 18 entries for Telstra Bark Painting with 5 finalists; 192 entries for Telstra General Painting with 31 finalists; 32 entries for Telstra Works on Paper with 8 finalists; and 49 entries for the Wandjuk Marika Memorial Three-Dimensional Award with 16 finalists.

natsiaa finalists

This year judges are artist Daniel Boyd; Director of the Ian Potter Museum of Art at the University of Melbourne, Kelly Gellatly; and artist Judith Inkamala, senior member of the Hermannsburg Potters.

Collectively the winners this year will receive $80,000 to assist in their career development.

The seven winners will be announced at an awards ceremony and exhibition opening at MAGNT on Friday evening, 10 August 2018.

natsiaa finalists


35th Telstra National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Art Awards

Saturday 11 August – Sunday 25 November

Curator: Luke Scholes

Judges: Daniel Boyd, Kelly Gellatly, Judith Inkamala

Selected artists; Judges; Luke Scholes, Curator of Aboriginal Art, MAGNT; and Nick Wilson, Telstra GM

List of finalists by state

Northern Territory

Adrian Jangala Robertson

Baluka Maymuru

Barayuwa Mununggurr

Barrmula Yunupingu

Bernadette Watt and Annabell Amagula

Charlotte Phillipus Napurrula

Dhambit Munuŋgurr

Elisa Jane Carmichael

Gunybi Ganambarr

Guykuḏa Munuŋgurr

Helen Ganalmirriwuy

Joe Guymala

Kathy Inkamala

Kaye Brown

Matthew Dhamuliya Gurruwiwi

Mervyn Rubuntja

Napuwarri Marawili

Patrina Liyadurrkitj Mununggurr

Sally M Mulda

Wukun Wanambi

Yalanba Waṉambi


George Nona

Janet Fieldhouse

Jenna Lee

Mavis Ngallametta

Tamika Grant-Iramu

South Australia

Betty Kuntiwa Pumani

Betty Muffler

Carlene Thompson

David Frank

Elizabeth Dunn

Jimmy Pompey

Kaylene Whiskey

Ken Sisters Collaborative

Marlene Brumby

Mitakiki Men’s Collaborative

Mumu Mike Williams

Niningka Lewis

Nyurpaya Kaika and Mary Pan

Pepai Jangala Carroll

Peter Mungkuri

Ray Ken

Robert Fielding

Sylvia Ken

Tiger Yaltangki

Tuppy Ngintja Goodwin

Vincent Namatjira

Wawiriya Burton

Yaritji Young


Nannette Shaw


Kent Morris

Lisa Waup

Western Australia

Bobby West Tjupurrula

Bugai Whyoulter and Cyril Whyoulter

Daisy Japulija

Jan Goongaja Griffiths

John Prince Siddon

Johnson Ooldigi Lane

Lawrence Pennington

Mabel Juli

Mantua Nangala

Mervyn Street

Ngarralja Tommy May

Nyaparu (William) Gardiner

Sebastian Arrow

Sonia Kurarra

Yukultji Napangati

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists can submit one original work that has not been previously exhibited or made available for sale. All awards are non-acquisitive and entrants are eligible to win one award.

Crystal Jewellery Banner Advert
deb carr blogger
things to do in sydney
bottom of page