top of page

Affiliate Disclosure. A few links on this website are affiliate links. This means a small commission is paid to Sydney Chic, however this does not incur any extra costs to the purchasers, and in some cases, may even offer discounts. This helps fund this website as we do not have any pop-up advertising or annoying lightboxes.

The Australian LGBTI Awards 2018 Nominations Now Open

Molly Meldrum

The Australian LGBTI Awards announced today that nominations for the 2018 awards are now open following a hugely successful inaugural event in 2017. The 2018 awards have three new categories open for nominations: Music Artist award, International Celebrity award and Best Media Moment.

For those who wish to nominate someone for the awards visit Everyone is welcome to nominate an individual who they feel have been inspirational in the LGBTI community.

The winners will be announced at a fabulous gala dinner next March, hosted by The Star, Sydney.

The inaugural Australian LGBTI Awards took place during the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras in 2017. The event was attended by community leaders, celebrities and organisations including: Molly Meldrum, Lucy Lawless, Joel Creasy, The Veronicas, Michelle Heyman, Magda Szubanski and Jordan Raskopoulos.

The Australian LGBTI Awards

There are two main groups to the awards, the Public Award Category and the Corporate Award Category. The Public Award Categories include Hero of the Year, Celebrity of the Year, Sports Personality of the Year and even Politician of the Year. These categories are entirely decided by the public vote. Popular nominees voted by the public then go through to the shortlist, which the public is again allowed to vote on.

The Corporate Award Category looks at CEOs and Diversity Champions in the business sector. The public nominates in these, with the winners to be decided by our esteemed judging panel that includes Les Girls legend Carlotta, Broadcaster Julie McCrossin, SBS Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director Michael Ebeid, LGBTI Activist and Model Ollie Henderson, Disability Discrimination Commissioner Alistair McEwin and PwC Australia Partner, Suzi Russell-Gilford.

The Australian LGBTI Awards

The winner of last year’s lifetime achievement award was Molly Meldrum. Those in attendance at today’s media launch were shown a video of Molly’s speech and I loved it when he said “I’ve got so many awards around but this one is in my main room shining because I was so honoured by it. It’s incredibly important and makes me want to fight harder for equality”

Good luck to all those nominated and as always, Sydney Chic is a big supporter of the LGBTI community.

Crystal Jewellery Banner Advert
deb carr blogger
things to do in sydney
bottom of page